Current Board Members

Odoo • Text and Image

Andrea Wilson

MRA President
MRA Training Co-Chair

I have served on the MRA Board since 2017 when I became co-chair for training and I am honored to have been elected as next year’s MRA President.  I am looking forward to continuing the organization’s efforts to support our colleagues in becoming the “best of the best” in the field of rehabilitation services. 
I also enjoy helping to chair the committee that organizes the events at the MRA/DORS conference to support our annual charity campaign, which allows us the privilege to give back to the broader community, which we serve.
In my “free time” outside of MRA, I am a Vocational Technical Specialist proudly supporting a Transition Aged Youth caseload at DORS here on Maryland’s beautiful Eastern Shore! 

Odoo - Sample 1 for three columns

Stacey Watts

MRA Immediate Past President

It is my pleasure to serve as the president of the Maryland Rehabilitation Association (MRA) for 2020-2021, and to be a part of an organization that is committed to enhancing the lives of individuals with disabilities. Through collaboration with other professionals that share this same mission, we have been able to promote best practices in rehabilitation services since the 1950’s. Today, we continue that mission by providing continued education and training, developing leadership and network opportunities, and remaining active in state and national advocacy for individuals with disabilities. 

Gaffney Shepherd  

President Elect

I joined Benedictine as a Job developer in 2015 working with consumers referred to the Benedictine Community Services and Training Center by the Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS). In my role as Job Developer, I work with individuals to prepare them for employment, finding and applying for positions of interest. Once employed I help the job seeker acclimate to their new job duties and help develop natural support for the worker at the work-site. I also coach customized Pre-ETS training classes in Self Advocacy, Work-Readiness, Hospitality, and Retail. Soft and hard skills are learned in a classroom setting. Then partnerships, in our community, invite our workers to their locations to practice their skills on-site. I look forward to continuing to support the MRA mission and I am honored to serve as President-Elect. 
Odoo - Sample 2 for three columns

Sharon Plump

MRA Membership Chair

I am happy to be serving as the current Membership Chair for MRA.  I have been an active member of the Board for the last 15 years.  I remain involved in several state-wide committees and advocacy groups promoting awareness of persons with disabilities.   
My background includes 30 years in the Vocational Rehabilitation Field  and I have been a Certified Rehabilitation Counselor for the last 24 years. I currently serve as a Regional Director for the Division of Rehabilitation Services.   

Odoo - Sample 3 for three columns

Derick Serra

MRA Treasurer 

Over the 28 years for which I have worked at the MD Division of Rehabilitation Services, I've held positions as a Field Counselor, a Staff Specialist for Professional Development, and (currently) Program Manager for the Technical Assistance Branch. As a member of the MRA, I have been Treasurer since 2018. Each position, and office, has it's unique challenges and rewards.  The most consistent rewards have always been the colleagues and friends with whom I work, serving the vocational rehabilitation community.

Malorie Marti

Conference planner

I have been an active MRA Board member since 2016.  I have served as Secretary and President, and now have an active role in our annual conference and social event.
My background includes several years as a Transition Youth VR counselor at the Division of Rehabilitation Services, as well as working in private practice as a therapist.  I am a Certified Rehabilitation Counselor (CRC) and a Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC).
I have continuously enjoyed working with my colleagues on promoting access and services for people with disabilities.

Rose Hennick

Website and Social Media Manager

I am an active MRA Member since 2019. As a board member, I serve as the website and social media manager. I update our Facebook and website, as well as serve on several subcommittees. 

I work as a Vocational Specialist with DORS and I am currently working on my Master's Degree in Rehabilitation Counseling and Clinical Mental Health Counseling. I plan to graduate in December 2022 and obtain my CRC and LCPC.

It is my absolute pleasure to work with the disability community and vocational rehabilitation services. 

Odoo - Sample 1 for three columns

Karen L. Morgret

I am honored to be serving as the MRA Training Co-Chair and an active member of the MRA Board for the last 10 years.  In my current role I am involved in several state and local advocacy groups with a primary focus on supporting individuals with disabilities.  I am the November 2019 recipient of the MRA Administration Award. 

My background includes approximately 30 years in the disabilities field.  My graduate degree is in General Administration / Human Resources, and I am a Certified Employment Support Professional (CESP).   My current position is Director of Vocational Services and Quality Assurance for TLC – The Treatment and Learning Center, Inc. – The Outcomes Service, (TLC Outcomes) in Rockville, MD and a program surveyor for the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF).   TLC has been a CRP vendor with DORS since 1986.


2022 Board Members and Officers

  • President –  Andrea WIlson

  • President-Elect   Gaffney Shepherd

  • Immediate Past President   Stacey Watts

  • Secretary   Toni Cobb-Cannon

  • Treasurer   Derick Serra

  • Membership   Sharon Plump

  • Constitution & By-laws Committee   Melissa James

  • MAR Representative     Leah Spivey, Christine Franklin

  • Legislation Representative   Melissa James

  • Student Representative   Lisa Willis

  • Training & Education   Karen Morgret & Andrea Wilson

  • Awards – Shawna Leonard 

  • Western MD Rep   Sharon Plump

  • Southern MD Rep   Suzie Miller

  • Eastern Shore Rep   Jena Paquin

  • Central MD Rep   Darlene Ginn

  • Multi-cultural Rep   Akida Goppy

  • Social Media & Website – Rose Hennick

  • Members at Large   Shawna Leonard & Jody Boone